Greentram Software Support Forums  

Go Back   Greentram Software Support Forums > General > Installation issues

Installation issues Queries related to the installation of SuperBeam, ProSteel or EuroBeam

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th June 2008, 03:15 PM   #1
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 820
Default Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

We get periodic queries from Mac users who want to know whether we produce Mac versions of our software: the simple answer is no. More helpfully, we have been contacted by a SuperBeam user who runs it on a Mac through the Parallels virtualisation software: you need this and a copy of Windows. Details at www.parallels.com.

We cannot promise to offer technical support if you go down this route, but internally SuperBeam and ProSteel are standard Windows applications that do not do anything 'clever' (because I'm not!) so there should be no problems.

Any feedback from Mac users who use Parallels or other Windows emulation would be very welcome
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2010, 01:41 AM   #2
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

PC Pro review of Parallels http://www.pcpro.co.uk/reviews/softw...lels-desktop-6 for anyone interested.
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2012, 08:14 AM   #3
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

TechRepublic review of Parallels 7 http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/mac...;siu-container
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2012, 04:26 PM   #4
Callmeal
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Exclamation Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

I suppose the same reply for iPad3
Callmeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2012, 06:12 PM   #5
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

No, as far as I know there are no PC emulators for the iPad
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2012, 06:54 PM   #6
Rob Struthers
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Although Windows has pretty much ruled in this industry up to now, the Apple peripherals that we all have are pretty much having an influence on the way we hook all our devices together, and more and more our professional work computer is becoming a laptop rather than a desktop PC. From the people I work with most, I constantly see people switching from a PC to a MacBook Pro. I'm not there yet myself, but I feel the pull. More and more I am getting CAD drawings emailed to me in TurboCAD rather than AutoCAD (you can tell from the blocks and layers). That TurboCAD Pro is 10th the price of the equivalent AutoCAD is something to do with it too, I'm sure. And when people want a laptop, there is only one they really want.

It seems from my desk that the world is Apple, and Windows is back in the position of looking like DOS when Apple began, and with Apple's continuing dominance, I don't see that changing anytime soon.

The people that I know continue to run Windows programs seamlessly on their Macs, just having it open in W7. It's not perfect, but upgrades will be to Apple format until Windows is forgotten.

There is no issue with installing and running ProSteel & SuperBeam on a Mac in W7, but I think that as there is a huge gap in the market for Structural programs such as this on native Mac format, and massively growing, that not grabbing the opportunity when there are no others is missing a trick.

I honestly believe that the switching over to Apple, in massive numbers, will continue until they have won.

Do you know anyone on W8?

Last edited by Rob Struthers; 27th November 2012 at 06:59 PM.
Rob Struthers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2013, 12:48 AM   #7
Rob Struthers
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

There hasn't been much on this for a long while, but as an update, and to provide a definitive answer to this question, I am now running on a MacBook Pro running MS Office in native Mac and Superbeam4, Prosteel5 & AutoCAD 2010 via Fusion 5 in unity mode running Windows 7 Pro. That means that the program appears in its own window exactly as it does in W7 on the desktop, so the OS platform is invisible.
VM Fusion 5 even shares documents and printers automatically, so there is no installing things twice.
To clarify further; there are icons on my Mac desktop and in the dock. Click Prosteel5 for instance, and it opens like a regular program with no visible sign that its using W7 to do so. It really is that clever.
Maybe it was a problem in the past, but not now.
Rob Struthers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2013, 06:11 AM   #8
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Thanks Rob for the update. I can say that I doubt whether we will ever look at producing native Mac versions of any of our programs - it would be technically interesting exercise but commercially disastrous. What I am exploring (and it's nothing more than this currently) is the idea of a browser-based EuroBeam derivative that would work on any computer, tablet or smart phone. I can't say any more at the moment because there's nothing more to say.
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2018, 06:51 PM   #9
peterflax
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
Smile Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Bryer View Post
No, as far as I know there are no PC emulators for the iPad
i agree with you !
peterflax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 Greentram Software Pty Ltd, Melbourne, Australia