Greentram Software Support Forums  

Go Back   Greentram Software Support Forums > SuperBeam > Support

Support Technical and other questions related to the use of SuperBeam

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 7th February 2016, 01:15 PM   #1
Just Me
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Default Beam offset on SHS post

Hello I read through a couple of the posts can someone please clarify for me. Do I have to offset the beam (in software) with post cap from what I read it is a no. I have attached a sketch to help explain. Any help would be appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg offset.JPG (16.7 KB, 7 views)
Just Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2016, 10:09 PM   #2
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 780
Default Re: Beam offset on SHS post

Yes, if the load is not axial you need to allow for the additional bending imposed by it being off-centre. In your case the load would appear to act somewhere between the centre and face of the member so the offset - which we measure from the face of the member - would be negative. As we don't allow negative offsets, enter '0' - this will be conservative. Alternatively, and more accurately, you can work out the moment yourself (load x offset) and enter it in the 'additional moment' field, entering the load itself as axial.
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2016, 07:24 PM   #3
Just Me
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Default Re: Beam offset on SHS post

Tony Thank you for your quick response, appreciated. So as to understand, if the offset (which is negative) is say 50mm off the face of the member do I enter 0 -50?
Just Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2016, 03:07 AM   #4
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 780
Default Re: Beam offset on SHS post

That would be logical, but to avoid confusion we don't currently negative offsets. Entering '0' is conservative, and since the moment is so small will make little difference.
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2016, 08:46 AM   #5
Just Me
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Default Re: Beam offset on SHS post

Good morning Tony. Thank you for your confirmation, logic is what I am looking for as it is broadly understood. If I were to enter something that was illogical then I would expect the output to be wrong as you say "garbage in garbage out" that is why I asked the question to ensure I understood. Thank you for your help.
Just Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 Greentram Software Pty Ltd, Melbourne, Australia