Greentram Software Support Forums  

Go Back   Greentram Software Support Forums > General > Installation issues

Installation issues Queries related to the installation of SuperBeam, ProSteel or EuroBeam

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13th September 2013, 03:03 PM   #11
Rob Struthers
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Sounds even more transparent than Fusion. I'll need to look into this.
Thanks.
Rob Struthers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2014, 06:28 PM   #12
Lennox73
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Smile Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

I was going to ask the question of whether they had plans of creating a mac version of super and prosteel, as a previous runner of parallels to run windows on my mac until parallels decided to crash and lead to a reinstall of my iOS software , I can confirm that the crossover software is a breeze to use and works a charm, (but please reconsider in getting a mac version up and running soon).
Lennox73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2018, 06:51 PM   #13
peterflax
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
Smile Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Bryer View Post
No, as far as I know there are no PC emulators for the iPad
i agree with you !
peterflax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2018, 07:07 PM   #14
Robert Lye
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Hi All

Bit late with this thread as I must admit to not frequenting the forums regularly.

I have been a Superbeam/Prosteel/Eurobeam user for quite a number of years now (not sure how many but I'm sure Tony can enlighten me) originally on PC's and have been running all the programs on an iMac and a MacBook air for a few years now.

I use Parallels along with copies of windows 7 with no problems at all, or if there are, it isn't with the design software.

I am currently using Parallels v14 which seems to have slightly increased speed a bit not that it was sluggish before.

Anyway for those who are not sure I would say just buy a copy of windows and one of parallels and off you go.

Great programs by the way but I guess all us long term users know that already.
Robert Lye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2018, 09:20 PM   #15
StevenWaters
New member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Bryer View Post
We get periodic queries from Mac users who want to know whether we produce Mac versions of our software: the simple answer is no. More helpfully, we have been contacted by a SuperBeam user who runs it on a Mac through the Parallels virtualisation software: you need this and a copy of Windows. Details at www.parallels.com.

We cannot promise to offer technical support if you go down this route, but internally SuperBeam and ProSteel are standard Windows applications that do not do anything 'clever' (because I'm not!) so there should be no problems.

Any feedback from Mac users who use Parallels or other Windows emulation would be very welcome
Sounds much more straightforward than Fusion. I'll have to investigate this.

Much obliged.
StevenWaters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2019, 11:50 AM   #16
Pianissimo
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Thank you for this message and your suggestions
Pianissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2019, 07:36 AM   #17
rossi123
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Bryer View Post
We get periodic queries from Mac users who want to know whether we produce Mac versions of our software: the simple answer is no. More helpfully, we have been contacted by a SuperBeam user who runs it on a Mac through the Parallels virtualisation software: you need this and a copy of Windows. Details at www.parallels.com.

We cannot promise to offer technical support if you go down this route, but internally SuperBeam and ProSteel are standard Windows applications that do not do anything 'clever' (because I'm not!) so there should be no problems.
Pnr Status TextNow
Any feedback from Mac users who use Parallels or other Windows emulation would be very welcome
for me i suppose the same reply for iPad3

Last edited by rossi123; 27th January 2019 at 08:42 PM.
rossi123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2019, 10:16 AM   #18
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 832
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

iPads and Macs are use different operating systems and I'm not aware on anything that will let you run Windows apps on an iPad
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2019, 09:46 PM   #19
rossi123
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Struthers View Post
There hasn't been much on this for a long while, but as an update, and to provide a definitive answer to this question, I am now running on a MacBook Pro running MS Office in native Mac and Superbeam4, Prosteel5 & AutoCAD 2010 via Fusion 5 in unity mode running Windows 7 Pro. That means that the program appears in its own window exactly as it does in W7 on the desktop, so the OS platform is invisible Bluestacks Kodi Lucky Patcher .
VM Fusion 5 even shares documents and printers automatically, so there is no installing things twice.
To clarify further; there are icons on my Mac desktop and in the dock. Click Prosteel5 for instance, and it opens like a regular program with no visible sign that its using W7 to do so. It really is that clever.
Maybe it was a problem in the past, but not now
.
yes that's right and I agree with you that it was a problem in the past and not now
but in windows seven it's something else

Last edited by rossi123; 29th January 2019 at 11:51 AM.
rossi123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 Greentram Software Pty Ltd, Melbourne, Australia