Greentram Software Support Forums  

Go Back   Greentram Software Support Forums > General > Installation issues

Installation issues Queries related to the installation of SuperBeam, ProSteel or EuroBeam

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th January 2013, 09:14 PM   #1
Ian
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default setup install problem

Hi
I'm trying to update superbeam 4.58e to 4.58h.

I'm running windows XP with sp3 and it has always been an easy update. However this time the update downloads the installer to the desktop, I click on it and the setup installer starts fine asks usual questions about where to put files etc then when I click on the install button - it says installing, creating directories and nothing happens - the program locks up and doesn't respond.

Is this something you know about ? Is it part of the superbeam program or do you think it is a problem with my windows setup program ?

If you have any suggestions, they would be gratefully received (especially if they are simple !)

Thanks
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 09:22 PM   #2
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 780
Default Re: setup install problem

Welcome to the forums. There are no known issues regarding the installer. In the first instance I would suggest restarting the computer and trying again. If that doesn't work, come back to us.
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 09:32 PM   #3
Ian
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default Re: setup install problem

Oh Dear,

Thanks for that Tony - I suspected it may be something on my side, I have tried installing over a few days turning off and on again - looks like I had better try a system restore or something to try to fix my setup.

Thanks anyway, at least I have asked my first question after approx 18 years of using superbeam, it must be fairly reliable !
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 11:27 PM   #4
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 780
Default Re: setup install problem

System restore sounds a bit drastic at this point. The installer should have created a log file which may give a clue as to the problem. The file name will depend on your system setup: on mine (Windows 7) he most recent is C:\Users\Tony\AppData\Local\Temp\Setup Log 2013-01-24 #004.txt. If you call Windows Explorer (Windows key + E), drill down until you find where these files are stored (obviously the user name won't be Tony). Hopefully the file will give a clue as to why the installer is falling over. If you can send us the file as an attachment, I will hopefully be able to identify the specific problem.
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 09:29 AM   #5
Ian
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default Re: setup install problem

Hi Tony,

Thanks for reply, I think this is the file, each of the installation attempts seem to finish at the same point.

" 2013-01-30 17:35:07.781 Log opened. (Time zone: UTC+00:00)
2013-01-30 17:35:07.781 Setup version: Inno Setup version 5.5.2 (a)
2013-01-30 17:35:07.781 Original Setup EXE: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\SDA\SB458hSetup.exe
2013-01-30 17:35:07.781 Setup command line: /SL5="$6C0336,3904618,50176,C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\SDA\SB458hSetup.exe"
2013-01-30 17:35:07.781 Windows version: 5.1.2600 SP3 (NT platform: Yes)
2013-01-30 17:35:07.781 64-bit Windows: No
2013-01-30 17:35:07.781 Processor architecture: x86
2013-01-30 17:35:07.781 User privileges: Administrative
2013-01-30 17:35:07.781 64-bit install mode: No
2013-01-30 17:35:07.781 Created temporary directory: C:\DOCUME~1\Ian\LOCALS~1\Temp\is-QA058.tmp
2013-01-30 17:35:07.953 Master INI: C:\Windows\SDA_Apps.ini
2013-01-30 17:35:07.953 User INI: C:\Windows\SDA_Apps.ini
2013-01-30 17:35:07.968 PrjDir: c:\Documents and Settings\Ian\My Documents\SDA\
2013-01-30 17:35:07.968 Steel data: C:\Program Files\SDA\
2013-01-30 17:35:11.671 Message box (Yes/No):
The folder:

C:\Program Files\SDA

already exists. Would you like to install to that folder anyway?
2013-01-30 17:35:13.250 User chose Yes.
2013-01-30 17:35:16.468 Starting the installation process.
2013-01-30 17:35:16.468 Setting permissions on directory: C:\Windows "


thanks
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 12:16 PM   #6
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 780
Default Re: setup install problem

Thanks for this info: I've no idea why installs should now be failing when you've obviously done this without problems in the past.

The first install on this PC was obviously a good while ago as the INI files are in the Windows folder, something which was deprecated once Vista came in. What I would suggest is within your currently installed copy select Configuration, User Setup, File Names and Locations page. At the bottom you will see a little button with 'V'[ista compatible] on it. Press this and the INI files should automatically be relocated and hopefully the new install will then be trouble free.
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 02:59 PM   #7
Ian
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Thumbs up Re: setup install problem

Thanks Tony,

I did as you said and it worked perfectly, back to normal.

Many thanks once again.
Ian

Heaton Design Ltd
Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 Greentram Software Pty Ltd, Melbourne, Australia