Greentram Software Support Forums  

Go Back   Greentram Software Support Forums > General > Installation issues

Installation issues Queries related to the installation of SuperBeam, ProSteel or EuroBeam

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th June 2008, 03:15 PM   #1
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 780
Default Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

We get periodic queries from Mac users who want to know whether we produce Mac versions of our software: the simple answer is no. More helpfully, we have been contacted by a SuperBeam user who runs it on a Mac through the Parallels virtualisation software: you need this and a copy of Windows. Details at www.parallels.com.

We cannot promise to offer technical support if you go down this route, but internally SuperBeam and ProSteel are standard Windows applications that do not do anything 'clever' (because I'm not!) so there should be no problems.

Any feedback from Mac users who use Parallels or other Windows emulation would be very welcome
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2010, 01:41 AM   #2
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 780
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

PC Pro review of Parallels http://www.pcpro.co.uk/reviews/softw...lels-desktop-6 for anyone interested.
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2012, 08:14 AM   #3
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 780
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

TechRepublic review of Parallels 7 http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/mac...;siu-container
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2012, 04:26 PM   #4
Callmeal
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Exclamation Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

I suppose the same reply for iPad3
Callmeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2012, 06:12 PM   #5
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 780
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

No, as far as I know there are no PC emulators for the iPad
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2012, 06:54 PM   #6
Rob Struthers
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Although Windows has pretty much ruled in this industry up to now, the Apple peripherals that we all have are pretty much having an influence on the way we hook all our devices together, and more and more our professional work computer is becoming a laptop rather than a desktop PC. From the people I work with most, I constantly see people switching from a PC to a MacBook Pro. I'm not there yet myself, but I feel the pull. More and more I am getting CAD drawings emailed to me in TurboCAD rather than AutoCAD (you can tell from the blocks and layers). That TurboCAD Pro is 10th the price of the equivalent AutoCAD is something to do with it too, I'm sure. And when people want a laptop, there is only one they really want.

It seems from my desk that the world is Apple, and Windows is back in the position of looking like DOS when Apple began, and with Apple's continuing dominance, I don't see that changing anytime soon.

The people that I know continue to run Windows programs seamlessly on their Macs, just having it open in W7. It's not perfect, but upgrades will be to Apple format until Windows is forgotten.

There is no issue with installing and running ProSteel & SuperBeam on a Mac in W7, but I think that as there is a huge gap in the market for Structural programs such as this on native Mac format, and massively growing, that not grabbing the opportunity when there are no others is missing a trick.

I honestly believe that the switching over to Apple, in massive numbers, will continue until they have won.

Do you know anyone on W8?

Last edited by Rob Struthers; 27th November 2012 at 06:59 PM.
Rob Struthers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2013, 12:48 AM   #7
Rob Struthers
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

There hasn't been much on this for a long while, but as an update, and to provide a definitive answer to this question, I am now running on a MacBook Pro running MS Office in native Mac and Superbeam4, Prosteel5 & AutoCAD 2010 via Fusion 5 in unity mode running Windows 7 Pro. That means that the program appears in its own window exactly as it does in W7 on the desktop, so the OS platform is invisible.
VM Fusion 5 even shares documents and printers automatically, so there is no installing things twice.
To clarify further; there are icons on my Mac desktop and in the dock. Click Prosteel5 for instance, and it opens like a regular program with no visible sign that its using W7 to do so. It really is that clever.
Maybe it was a problem in the past, but not now.
Rob Struthers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2013, 06:11 AM   #8
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 780
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Thanks Rob for the update. I can say that I doubt whether we will ever look at producing native Mac versions of any of our programs - it would be technically interesting exercise but commercially disastrous. What I am exploring (and it's nothing more than this currently) is the idea of a browser-based EuroBeam derivative that would work on any computer, tablet or smart phone. I can't say any more at the moment because there's nothing more to say.
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2013, 12:37 AM   #9
MBC-Tech
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 1
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Dear all,

I have just joined the Forum to update you on running SuperBeam, Eurobeam and ProSteel on a Mac. I have downloaded the 3 Demos and I am using CrossOver by CodeWeavers. CrossOver is a Mac OS X application that runs windows software. In the CodeWeavers website their description is:

"CrossOver allows you to install many popular Windows applications and PC Games on your Mac. CrossOver is simple, affordable, and best of all requires no Windows license. Your Windows software runs natively on Mac OS; just click and run"

They have a list of known apps that work and do not work and they grade them with Medals Gold, Silver and Bronze depending on stability and severity of bugs.

CodeWeavers support a number of Windows Software programmes, mainly Games and other major packages like MS Office and Project, they have a list where they record sponsorship of programmes that you want them to support and depending on popularity they do or not.

There are many programmes that work really well and are unsupported, for example I found that .NET requirements for the programmes affects the likelihood of them working.

I have been running and made a few demo calculations on SB, EB and ProSteel for the last 4 hours and they worked a treat! I will be letting CodeWeavers know and this will probably raise the profile of Greentram Software as I have been very impressed on value, ease of use, features and most of all how well written the help files are, giving tones of external reference and tips.

One last thing CodeWeavers run a porting service (like a iOS envolope for Windows Software), watch the video of porting is very amusing and informative and this could open the massive iOS market to this very well crafted and simple software. I would make an enquiry myself but it has to be the owner of the software...

As I think my trial is the first time anyone has tried SB, EB and ProSteel on Crossover I don't know if bugs will developed later on but I had the three programmes running at the same time and I had no problems and other times trying other software I noticed after a while that they were not working properly or things were starting to play-up.

I am sorry for the long post and hope this info helps a few as I concur with a few other posts that the Structural Software industry is mainly Windows focus. Crossover costs 38 or $60.

Best wishes,
Manuel Bello-Cano
MBC Tech
MBC-Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2013, 08:09 AM   #10
Tony Bryer
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 780
Default Re: Running SuperBeam or ProSteel on a Mac

Thank you Manuel for such a helpful and detailed contribution to the thread. I knew about Parallels and VMWare but CodeWeavers is a new one to me. I'll be checking it out further.
__________________
Tony Bryer, Greentram Software Pty Ltd
Tony Bryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 Greentram Software Pty Ltd, Melbourne, Australia